Forums » General StepMania » Song library management for social gaming

I've been playing Stepmania for about 14 years now and I've stuck with that long because it's proven to be a fantastic social game to play with friends. We play on metal pads and most of my social group aren't high-level players.

I'd like to discuss song library management in the context of playing SM socially with people who aren't "SM / DDR nerds".

Many of us here have fairly large SM song libraries. I have about 5000 songs installed, for example, and that probably isn't even close to some of the larger collections people on this site have. This presents a problem when it comes to social gaming with non-SM nerds: The "typical" non-nerd will tend to gravitate towards wanting to play songs that they know from "real life". Even I, as a semi-SM-nerd, enjoys playing songs that I know outside of Stepmania.

Why is this a problem? It's because of how song library managment is handled in Stepmania. For a party setting, it takes way too long to flip through thousands of songs, browsing for something you recognize.

I've personally made a point of keeping as many songs as possible that I've found in packs which are relatively "mainstream" or "normal" music that an everyday person may know because these are the kinds of songs that non-SM nerds tend to gravitate towards. The problem is finding them in a sea of obscure remixes to also obscure songs, anime themes, hardcore techno, K-pop, etc. that one typically finds in SM song packs. Casual players, as far as I've ever seen, don't hear a random song on SM and think "oh, that sounds cool, I'll play it". No. They say to themselves "I don't know this. I'm going to look for something I've heard of". With large collections, that's an absolute nightmare.

The #GENRE tag is, in theory, a fantastic tool for solving this problem.