Forums » General Questions » SM only in dutch

Hello,
I am really new with all of this, so I hope I didn't overlooked some answers who would have already helped me.

But the problem is, I just downloaded and installed Stepmania. But regardless which language I choose, the language setting is always set to dutch... I can't change it and reinstalling hasn't helped either.

=/ Is there any way to fix this?

Dears Lapa
Try to find your Preferences.ini which is in %APPDATA%/StepMania 5.0/Save/ on windows and ~/.stepmania-5.0/Save/ on linux and ~/Library/Preferences/StepMania 5/Save/ on OS X.
See if you can change the language by setting the Language setting in there.
It's really weird that changing it in Stepmania isn't working, something is probably preventing Stepmania from creating Preferences.ini.
< cybik> til Kyzentun fixes bugs for breakfast
--
< maxvg1> shakesoda: then why do i still play lol
<@shakesoda> because you're an ITG player. And thus, a masochist
--
<@shakesoda> Kyzentun: I think you might need to put down the meshes for a bit
Thank you for your fast answer.

I looked around and found the Language settings somewhere in the programm, but as it was in dutch it took more time than I thought =/.
Then I wanted to change it to "Deutsch/German" but it kept staying dutch. That was why I believed it stayed dutch, instead of changing the language.
After a few reinstallations I realised, that the language setting asked me, if I wanted to install it in "Deutsch/German" but after I installed it, it became dutch.

When I changed the setting to "English" it became English, but the name of the language stayed "Deutsch/German" and when i tried to change it, it became dutch again.

Was that a misspelling error? Or is there something wrong with my language files?

>< Sorry about all the troubles and thanks for all the help
Reinstalling won't help because that doesn't remove the preferences file.
It's probably easier to find Preferences.ini and edit it directly.